The Teresa Herrera stays home for the 21st time (2-0)

05/08/2017 23:09

Deportivo won the 72nd edition of the Teresa Herrera Trophy, the greatest friendly international tournament, by beating a tough West Bromwich Albion by 2-0, in their first home match of the pre-season.

Bruno Gama and Borja Valle, both towards the end of the match, gave Deportivo ‘their’ trophy for the 21st time, and the fourth consecutive one.

Several Deportivistas like Zakaria Bakkali and Fabian Schär played at the Estadio ABANCA-RIAZOR for the first time ever, as well as Fede Cartabia’s return.

The English side, who first participated in the Teresa Herrera back in 1979, came without several of their regulars: Chris Brunt, Gareth McAuley, James Morrison and Nacer Chadli, all injured. Jonny Evans was also ruled out at the very last minute.

Dépor’s first attempt came in the 5th minute of the game. Luisinho broke up the left wing, and whipped in a low cross, Bakkali touched the ball and it landed at Fede Cartabia’s feet who fired it slightly wide of Ben Foster’s right post.

Fifteen minutes into the game, the Argentinian had another attempt. This time from further away and was less of a threat. The English keeper stopped it with ease. However, in the 20th minute, Foster found Pedro Mosquera’s long-range shot more difficult to block.

In the last part of the first half, West Bromwich Albion were left down to ten men. Jake Livermore saw a second yellow for reacting badly to Pedro Mosquera’s foul, who was also booked.

In the 42nd minute, Emre Çolak played an outswinging cross which Florin Andone volleyed from the penalty spot. The Romanian sent it wide.

After half-time, Tony Pulis made four changes to the English side. Among those changes were the young and promising Rekeem Harper (17) and Dara O’Shea (18). Deportivo began to domiate the game even more and prowl Boaz Myhill’s territory with more clarity.

In the 52nd minute, Fede Cartabia had the chance of scoring the opener. West Brom's Welsh keeper was able to get a hand to the Argentian’s missile.

Five minutes later, Uruguayan Fede Valverde made his debut at the Estadio ABANCA-RIAZOR by coming on for Pedro Mosquera.

Another Deportivista effort in the 66th minute saw Florin Andone send Bruno Gama's pass into the stands.

In fact, it was the Portuguese winger, this pre-season’s top scorer, that put Dépor in the lead. In the 71st minute, Bruno Gama increased his personal tally by beating Myhill with a sublime, right foot shot.

It was already close to the final whistle that Borja Valle widened the gap. The Branquiazul forward angled a header that shaved past Myhill into the back of the net.

RC Deportivo: Rubén, Juanfran, Schär, Sidnei, Luisinho (Fernando Navarro, min. 81), Guilherme (Borja Valle, min. 70), Pedro Mosquera (Fede Valverde, min. 57), Bakkali (Edu Expósito, min. 75), Emre Çolak (Borges, min. 63), Fede Cartabia (Bruno Gama, min. 63) and Andone.

West Bromwich Albion: Foster (Myhill, min. 46), Wilson, Dawson (O'Shea, min. 46), Hegazi, Nyom (Roberts, min. 67), Phillips (Leko, min. 59), Yacob (Field, min. 62), Livermore, McClean, Rodríguez (Harper, min. 46) and Rondón (Robson-Kanu, min. 46).

Goals: 1-0 Bruno Gama (min. 71); 2-0 Borja Valle (min. 86).

Referee: Álvarez Izquierdo (Catalonia). Livermore was sent off with two yellows (min.40). Yellow cards to Pedro Mosquera, Sidnei and Juanfran (Deportivo), and to Dawson, Nyom, Harper and McClean (West Bromwich Albion).

Incidents: The final of the 72nd edition of the Teresa Herrera Trophy played at the Estadio ABANCA-RIAZOR. Attendance: 13,197 spectators. Zakaria Bakkali received the Estrella Galicia Player of the Tournament award, chosen by the press.